Edo Governorship Election results

Nineteen candidates are vying for the ticket to the Government House. However, the main contest is seen to be between Godwin Obaseki of the APC and Andrew Ize-Iyamu of the PDP. Edo state has a total of 1,925,105 registered voters; 192 Registration Areas (RAs); 2,627 Polling Units (PUs); and 4,011 Voting Points (VPs). A total of 25,000 police officers were deployed across the state to ensure peace and security during the polls, while 44 observer groups were accredited by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as election monitors.Voting is ongoing at the pollingWe will update you on the Edo Governorship Election results

Voting started at 11:05am at the polling center in Agbado Primary School in Benin City.

INEC National Commissioner, Mrs. Amina Zakari, says the process has gone based on expectation.

She says that security agents are doing their work and the people of Edo State are doing what is expected of them.

10:40am: The poll got off to a smooth start in some polling centres at Esan West Local Government Area with good turnouts of electorates.

While voting takes place in an orderly manner, polling officers at the central primary school in Esan West say the entire process has been going on smoothly with little or no incidents with the card readers.

09:40am: At another polling point, the election is going on peacefully.

The turnout of voters is massive with the presence of heavily-armed security operatives at the premises of the election venue.

08:45am: Ballot boxes are getting filled up. People with disabilities are also at the polling units to vote the candidate of their choice.

The election has been peaceful so far and voters hope that the process continues that way.

08:19am: Channels Television reports that voting has commenced in the state.

07:45am: Channels Television correspondent reports from Benin City, the Edo State capital.

Officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), security operatives and voters arrived the polling centre as early as 07:00am.

We will update you on the Edo Governorship Election results

Leave a Reply